Board of Supervisors



Smyth County is governed by a board of supervisors whose members are elected from each of the seven magisterial districts in the county. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for approving the county budget, setting tax rates, and hiring a county administrator who oversees the day-to-day operations of the County. The County Administrator is the primary contact for the Board of Supervisors.

The Board of Supervisors meeting room is located on the first floor of the Smyth County Office Building, at 121 Bagley Circle, Suite 100, Marion, VA.
The office building is located on the grounds of Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute near Exit 45 of Interstate 81.mapGoogle Map
Office hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Board of Supervisors meets the second Tuesday of every month. Please see the meeting schedule listed below for dates and times of the scheduled meetings.  All meetings are held in the Board of Supervisors meeting room.

Board members

Saltville District- Roscoe D. Call 
Election District 1-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2021
688 Upper Poore Valley Road
Saltville, VA  24370
Phone:  276-496-4545

North Fork District-Charles P. Stevenson (Phil)
Election District 2-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
1154 Long Hollow Road
Saltville, VA  24370
Phone:  276-780-1624

Chilhowie District-Curtis Rhea
Election District 3-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2022
1460 Old Stage Road
Chilhowie, VA  24319
Phone:  276-782-2340

Park District-M. Todd Dishner –Chairman
Election District 4-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
202 Spring Valley Road
Marion, VA  24354
Phone:  276-759-2096

Atkins District-Charles E. Atkins
Election District 5-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
6235 Lee Hwy.
Atkins, VA 24311
Phone:  276-783-6100

Royal Oak District-Judy Wyant
Election District 6-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2022
1494 Scratch Gravel Road
Marion, VA  24354
Phone:  276-783-5593

Rye Valley District-Richard (Rick) K. Blevins- Vice Chair
Election District 7-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019 
168 Teaberry Lane
Marion, VA  24354
Phone:  276-782-9250

meeting schedule

 *Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month with the exception of November's meeting and start at 4:00pm in closed session and resume open to the public at 5:00pm.

Dates & Time:

January 8, 2019 5:00 p.m.
February 12, 2019 5:00 p.m.
March 12, 2019 5:00 p.m.
April 9, 2019 5:00 p.m.
May 14, 2019 5:00 p.m.
June 11, 2019 5:00 p.m.
July 9, 2019 5:00 p.m.
August 13, 2019 5:00 p.m.
September 10, 2019 5:00 p.m.
October 8, 2019 5:00 p.m.
November 13 , 2019 5:00 p.m.
December 10, 2019 5:00 p.m.

Contact for Board:

Michael Carter - County Administrator
121 Bagley Circle, Suite 100
Marion, VA 24354
Phone: (276)783-3298 ext. 8301


Animal Control Committee
Appointment Committee
Budget Committee
Building & Grounds Committee
Courthouse Committee
Economic & Ind. Reg. Dev. Committee
Emergency Communications Committee
Insurance Committee
Ordinance Committee
Personnel Committee
Solid Waste Committee
Surplus Property Committee
Water & Sewer Committee
For more information please contact:
Kelly Woods:



Agendas, Minutes & Videos

Comprehensive Plan 2014
County Observed Holidays
Drought Response/Contingency Plan
Identity Theft Prevention Program
Information Directory
Procedures for Small Purchases
Rules of Procedures