Board of Supervisors

Smyth County is governed by a board of supervisors whose members are elected from each of the seven magisterial districts in the county. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for approving the county budget, setting tax rates, and hiring a county administrator who oversees the day-to-day operations of the County. The County Administrator is the primary contact for the Board of Supervisors.

The Board of Supervisors meeting room is located on the first floor of the Smyth County Office Building, (121 Bagley Circle, Suite 100). The office building is located on the grounds of Southwestern Virginia Mental Health Institute ("hospital hill") near Exit 45 of Interstate 81. Office hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Board of Supervisors meets the second Tuesday of every month. Please see the meeting schedule for dates and times of the scheduled meetings.  All meetings are held in the Board of Supervisors room.


Contact Information for the Board of Supervisors:

Michael Carter - County Administrator
121 Bagley Circle, Suite 100
Marion, VA 24354
Phone: (276)783-3298 ext. 8301

Board of Supervisors:

District Name Phone
Saltville District
Election District 1-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2017 
Roscoe D. Call
688 Upper Poore Valley Road
Saltville, VA  24370
North Fork District
Election District 2-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
Charles P. Stevenson (Phil)
1154 Long Hollow Road
Satlville, VA  24370
Chilhowie District
Election District 3-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2022
R. Curtis Rhea
1460 Old Stage Road
Chilhowie, VA  24319
Park District
Election District 4-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
M. Todd Dishner – Chairman
202 Spring Valley Road
Marion, VA  24354
Atkins District
Election District 5-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019
Charles E. Atkins
6235 Lee Hwy.
Atkins, VA 24311
no email available per board member request

Royal Oak District
Election District 6-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2022
Judy Wyant
1494 Scratch Gravel Road
Marion, VA  24354

Rye Valley District
Election District 7-01
Term ends Dec. 31, 2019 
Richard (Rick) K. Blevins-Vice Chair
168 Teaberry Lane
Marion, VA  24354