Clerk of Circuit Court



The “Resident Judge” of the Smyth County Circuit Court is the Honorable Deanis L. Simmons, who assumed the position in 2013.   As Smyth County is part of the 28th Judicial Circuit, we are served by three circuit Court judges, any one of whom may hear cases in the Smyth County Circuit Court.

Honorable Deanis L. Simmons, Resident Judge
Smyth County Ciruit Court
109 W. Main St., Room 144
Marion, VA 24354
(276) 782-4050

Honorable Sage B. Johnson, Chief Judge
City of Bristol Circuit Court
497 Cumberland St.
Bristol, VA 24201
(276) 645-7351

Honorable C. Randall Lowe, Judge
Washington County Circuit Court
189 East Main Street
Abingdon, VA 24210
(276) 676-6260


Smyth County Circuit Court participates in the “Online Case Information System” [ ] hosted by the Virginia Supreme Court.   You may access case information about most civil and criminal cases, including the names of parties and their lawyers, trial dates, and whether the case is active or no longer on the docket of the Court.   Other limited information is available about pleadings filed and orders entered.     Most traffic tickets are heard in the General District Court and in the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court, and only make it up to Circuit Court if they are appealed.