Tax Rate Information

Tax rates are set by Board of Supervisors between May/July of each year. 

There are three towns in Smyth County: The Town of Marion, Town of Chilhowie, and the Town of Saltville. Each of these towns have their own individual tax rates in addition to the county taxes.

2022 Tax rates  

Personal Property $2.30/$100
Business Equipment  $2.30/$100
Computers (non-M&T)   $2.30/$100
Furniture & Fixtures  $2.30/$100
Merchant's Capital  $0.40/$100
Airplane $1.40/$100
Machinery & Tool   $1.55/$100
Real Estate  $0.74/$100
Mineral  $0.74/$100
Public Service  $0.74/$100
Mobile Home $0.74/$100  (Double Wide or Single Wide)

Transient Occupancy Tax Rate is 5%
PPTRA rate is 49%


Tax bills to be issued by October, with payment due by December 5th to the:
Treasurer of Smyth County 
PO Box 549
Marion  VA  24354
Located on the Ground Floor of the Smyth County Courthouse 
109 West Main St  
Marion  VA  24354
Phone: 276-782-4059



Smyth County does impose a penalty for not reporting personal property to the Commissioner of Revenue Office by May 1st of every year.


Questions regarding payment, please phone Treasurer's Office at 276-782-4059.  Questions regarding assessment, please phone Commissioner of the Revenue Office at 276-782-4040.