Economic Development


Smyth County is located in the lower portion of the Great Valley of Western Virginia. Interstate 81 runs through the county's central valley, and intersects with Interstate 77 approximately 25 miles northeast of the Town of Marion. Three towns are located in Smyth County: Marion (the county seat), Chilhowie, and Saltville.

Please follow the links on the navigation bar to the left to learn more about Smyth County, or visit our Community Profile Flyer for snapshot information.

For a full community profile click here:  Smyth County Community Profile