Planning Commission

The Planning Commission promotes and coordinates comprehensive long-range planning, growth-management, transportation, and environmental protection. It makes recommendations regarding land use and other comprehensive plan issues.

Meetings are held the fourth Thursday of each month in the Smyth County Board Room at 6:00 PM.

A joint public hearing of the Planning Commission and Smyth County Board of Supervisors is generally scheduled the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM in the Smyth County Board Room. November and December meetings may be rescheduled due to holidays. The joint meeting is only held if an application for Special Use Permit, Amendment to Text or Amendment to Map are filed under the zoning ordinance. Contact the Zoning Administrator for filing deadlines.
RESOURCES MEMBERSLea Meadows, Park District
Hazel L. Wagoner, Atkins District
David Spence, Saltville District
Paul D. Shepherd, Rye Valley District
Robert Campbell, North Fork District
Tony Dean, Royal Oak District
Graham Davidson, Jr., Chilhowie District

For more information contact:
Becca Creasy, Clerk
Ph:  (276)783-3298 ext. 8316
Fax:  (276) 783-9314